Wednesday, January 24, 2007

Strange Times in Fandom

I am very ambivalent towards the upcoming SuperBowl. I am not impressed with the Bears and I don't like Peyton Manning. It's weird, but I find the (insert over-hyped ESPN superlative here) Manning-led Colts offense boring.

Yes I said it.

They are boring. Sure, it's working. I can't blame them for doing it in the NFL to win. But watching the second half of the Colts/Pats game, I was actually pulling the Evil Pats (Destroyers of my Charger Dream). Watching the Colts offensive seemed a lot like playing a cheezer in an on-line game of video football. You find that one or two plays that are broken, and run them over and over and over again. This isn't video football, so if it's working you keep doing it until they stop it. But I thought it was boring and felt cheezy.

Yes, I know the Colts were running more than 1 ro 2 plays. But it seemed like it. Hurry to the line, spend 20 seconds barking out crap, run the play, hurry to the line, spend 20 seconds......ad naseum.

Plus I just don't like Peyton. I like his funny commercials, but I don't like him or watching him play.

So I have no desire to listen to the bullshit of the broadcast and watch him "exorcise the demons of his career" during the Super Bowl. But I would love to see the Bears defense pick him off 8 times for 5 scores and win the game 56-17. But I don't that the Bears can do that.

So I'm undecided on watching the SB.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home