Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Fight Night Round 3

So I broke the EA Sports boycott and bought Fight Night Round 3 for the Xbox360. Very good almost-finished game. I had a blast playing it, but right about the time I unlocked the last achievement the game was pretty boring in the single-player mode. It starts out great and really is a lot of fun, but it starts to get repetitive after a while. I need to get on Xbox Live and fight a few rounds.

I say "almost finished" because there are some glaring omissions, like when you win the fight or get DQ'd for too many low-blows. The fight just ends. When I first got the game and was fighting my buddy, I tried the low blow. It was funny because there was a clipping issue where I punched the guy in the nuts and my glove and arm would emerge from his ass! What could I do but punch him in the nuts over and over again. :) After a few shots, the action breaks and his guy is kind of bent over looking like he is in pain. I figure it's a break for me to get a point deduction and him to catch his breath.....except the fight just ends and goes to the stats. No announcement. No big "DQ" letters on the screen. No nothing.

Same thing happens when the ref stops the fight. Say you open a nice cut over your opponents left eye. The game mechanics work awesom in that your opponent won't be able to defend hard rights you throw due to limited vision on that swollen-eye side. Sweet! So you start pounding right-cross after right-cross, with some power hooks, one after another and they all land. The announcer starts saying stuff like "The ref only threatens to stop the fight when..." so you punch-punch-punch-punch. Then boom, your opponent is shrugging and you are at the stat screen.

Oh well. This game is still good. I would call it "well worth it" for the $60 price tag because I got that much enjoyment out of the game before it got repetitve.

I say if you are on the fence on this game, get it. It really is good.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home