Monday, January 09, 2006

Call Of Duty 2

I've been playing some COD2 on my Xbox360 lately, and it's been pretty fun. I don't ever play shooters, but I'm trying this one because it's gotten such good reviews.

As a newbie, I quickly set the difficulty to "Easy" to check things out. Wow, I get killed plenty even though the game says "Easy: you will crush the enemy", or something like that. I don't know that I'll ever any of those Gamer Achievement that all say "Veteran" on them...

In any event, the HD graphics are ass-kicking on my 60" Sony SXRD. The game looks really good. The sound is good, too, but I wish I had a surround sound setup to really get the feel of it. What's also nice is that there is a lot going on including snow and rain effects and all the bullets and explosions, and not a slow-down or frame-rate chug at all.

Back in the stone ages of gaming, I tried Wolfenstein and had to give it up because of my lame-ass motion sickness. I've stayed away from FPSs ever since. This game doesn't do that to me, so that's good. As a newbie, I really have to fight the controls or else I spaz out and turn too fast, and that is what brings on the motion sickness. The faster you turn your view, the more disorienting it is and the easier it is to be pointing the wrong way, necessitating another turn, which is also too fast. Etc etc etc.

So slowing down is good for a number of reasons.

The bottom line is that I'm having a blast on "Easy" and still managing to die a bunch of times per mission. I can't wait to go on line and up some people's kill rates. :)

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home