Sunday, December 12, 2004

I'm a Cheeser

Dang, I got kicked out of an ESPN NFL 2k5 league for being a cheeser. :( I didn't even use a DL glitch or run with a QB 35 times in one game. That sucks.

I took over a crappy team in a league, and in the first game my lack of cornerbacks meant Randy Moss kept catching pass after pass after pass. Here's the start: I win the coin toss and receive. I try to run, since I love running the ball, and go three and out and punt. I know I have no corners, and I know they have Moss and Culpepper, so I load up on coverage on Moss and they get a 60 yard run for a score. Did I mention they manage to have a great running back, too?

So I get the ball back and promptly throw an interception that's run in for a TD. I'm down 14-0. Crap. On the ensuing kick-off, I try to throw a juke move at the point of contact and.....FUMBLE! They scoop it up and score. Jeez! It's 21-0!

Somehow I hold on to the kickoff and put together a drive for a score. But then they come back to Moss-moss-moss-TD. I give up on the running game and pretty much just throw to my 91-rated WR against their crappy cornerbacks. I manage to match TDs, but I can't stop them or even come close. I have to put together long stressful drives while they go Moss-Moss-TD over and over again. Ugh.

So I go to goal line defense and blitz every play. They still score touchdowns, but they actually get to third down once in a while. I actually stop them a couple of times, too, and close the gap in score. I even ran kickoff back for a TD after one of their 2 play drives!

So I get slammed for "not being sim". Shit, I don't know what's more sim than changing your defense to something that actually works a little when nothing at all was working before! Plus I had to keep going to my money-play: quick slant over the middle. I guess he was so tired of not stopping that play that he whined to the league commissioner about it. But he didn't mention his Moss-Moss-Moss-Moss-Moss "strategy". Oh well, the funny thing he said I ran the same three plays over and over. I actually ran about 10-15 plays each out of 3 different sets. I hit the outside receivers and the RBs, and ran it up the gut, out of the same set as the slant over the middle. He was tripling the slant guy in that formation, so I had some great success with other plays.

Oh well, enough whining out of me. I ended up losing by 7 points. 56-49, or something ridiculous like that. I still have my other league so everything should be cool.

Unless I get cheesed out of that one, too!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home